My travel - Reisverslag uit Reykjavik, IJsland van ellen reus - WaarBenJij.nu My travel - Reisverslag uit Reykjavik, IJsland van ellen reus - WaarBenJij.nu

My travel

Door: Ellen de Reus

Blijf op de hoogte en volg ellen

20 December 2014 | IJsland, Reykjavik

I was writing my whole blog but it became a long story so I decided to divide it in two. My travel and my first days here so soon part two.

Well there I am, in the promised land, the country that you don’t hear any complain about. The country so many people want to visIt…..It is where I am now…. A U S T R A L I A
I am now in Australia 1,5 week and a bit more then a week on the farm where I am working. Of course you want to know all about my first impressions and adventures well…let’s get started.

The morning I was supposed to fly to Sydney I woke up….SICK!! I don’t know how I do it but always when I am in the Netherlands I got sick. I think this is because I am allergic to the country :P. I was a bit in panic I needed to travel up to 30 hours I cannot be sick now! So how was my travel? My flights? It was not to bad as I was totally stoned on codeine, hotcoldrex and nose spray

I flew with Korean air and okay I am not a flying expert so maybe I over react…
You enter the plane then there is slippers, toothbrush, toothpaste, pillow, blanket and a bottle of water. Okay so you think you are fine for at least an hour…no no after we were high up in the sky ( I am singing in my head; We flying hhhiiiggghhh we flying high upon the sky!!) They came with refreshment wipes, peanuts and tea. My god are they in a hurry I am on this plane for 10 hours, so rreellaaxxx. No no, no relax time. You sit back you ate the peanuts, had drink, you used the wipe and finally you start your movie and are comfortable enough to even dream a bit away. DINNER TIME!!! Do you want egg or Korean? Egg or Korean? Is an egg not Korean then? Well strange question, but he I will take egg. Egg, rice, beef, some strange kind of green slimy veggies, something soooo sweet that your teeth will fall out of your mouth and!!! WINE!! Well you could have water or wine. Can I please have some hot water for my medicine and a wine? Blink blink smile smile…Yeah Iceland taught me that Korean people don’t say now and my medicine with some wine was the best idea ever!!!! So of course I got hot water and wine :D Time to sleep……no this part of my travel I couldn’t sleep I was totally awake.

Arriving in Korea and waiting there for 5 hours was not to bad. I felt like a little spoiled princes. First I went to a internet area….o no wait I forget to tell, the first 30 min I was lost and walking like a ghost at the airport :D but then I found the internet place and some coffee. ( yess somehow I created the last months a coffee ‘’addiction’’ I need 1 coffee a day!) so I was back alive again. Then I know there were showers…so I found the place were there were showers, massages chairs, free drinks and even some small snacks…Ow My God!!!! This was a very good stop over and….after I felt relax and alive. I walked to my gate and I saw….Australia/Sydney…. For a moment I was frozen standing in front of the sign, Australia. Again with Korean air so everything was the same. This time I felt a sleep for a couple of hours. ‘’We are now flying above Australia and are ready to land’’ I looked outside and I cried, again. I made it, I did it, I made my deepest probably a bit of secret dream came true.

I was a bit afraid at customs but they were extremely nice. My passport shows a blond short hair me, and now I am a brown half long hair, slightly different and of course the custom man (with a big aussie accent! ) said ‘’Um I don’t think this is you’’ For a moment I thought ‘’shit now what’’ He started to laugh and said ‘’This looks better on you’’ fiieeww.

Then I finally was in Sydney. I was there!!!!!!! And even if I had a long long travel behind I felt like a little kid with way to much energy. I needed to be smart and I decided right there at that point I was staying in Sydney for day just to have for myself. He I worked hard and a lot so I deserve so quality time with pretty me, come on!!! So what did I do? I bought a plane ticket for the next day, I bought a sim card for my phone, I took a Australian tax number and I was ready to go! I didn’t want to travel to far for a hotel and taddaaaa there was a hotel right infront of the airport, that was perfect because the next day I needed to be there again. I went in and I at the moment I ask the lady for the rooms, prices etc. I heard myself….we have some room available the price is 130 dollar but if you go at the internet you can probably get it cheaper. So I did and find a cheaper room. That was great! So time to check in and again; ‘’I am very sorry but our check-in time is at 2 o’clock etc etc etc’’ I started to laugh and the lady ask me ‘’ Are you happy to be here’’ I said ‘’yess I am, but I am laughing because I work in a hotel too and I just hear you saying the things I also always say’’ So where are you from? I am working and living in Iceland but I am Dutch. ‘’Iceland? I was there this summer in Centerhotels’’ I started to laugh harder…at the end, I got a discount over my discount’’ the world is a small place even if I am now walking on almost the other side of the world.

I went by train to the city. Sydney here I am. It was hot the sun was shining bright. I walk through Sydney and I realized I was coming from a quiet place, I was tired and overwhelm. I visited the Opera House, I saw the bridge, the parks but nothing was really coming in. after I few hours I went back, bought some food at a little market and went back to the hotel. My room was ready. I went in my room. WAUW! 6 towels, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion. The bath room was so big I could dance in it. ( So I did!) I turned the tv on, watched a lot of movies, eat, drunk a lot of tea and tried to keep myself awake. At 9 local time I felt a sleep and woke up 12 hours later. Fresh! Ready to go to Byron Bay…not knowing what was coming….



  • 20 December 2014 - 11:49

    Naline:

    oehhh spannend!
    Looking forward to part 2!
    Veel liefs, Naline

  • 20 December 2014 - 13:08

    Alie:

    nou dat begint al goed met je verhalen.wat knap dat je dat reizen alleen aandurft,en je overal weer uit red.
    je zal de eerste dagen wel doodmoe zijn geweest na zo"n lange reis,maar je bent er.
    we wachten je volgende verhaal weer af
    Ellen ,fijne kerstdagen en een heel mooi en gezond 2015
    Maak er een mooie tijd van,dikke knuffelXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    GR Alie

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

ellen

Hoi ik ben Ellen!!! De afgelopen jaren heb ik verschillende leuke dingen gedaan. Maar de afgelopen jaren had ik ook de wens om voor langere tijd weg te gaan uit Nederland. Taaaadaaaaa daar ga ik dan naar IJsland, Reykjavik (veel andere plaatsen zijn er niet ;) ) Ik ga mijn best doen zoveel mogelijk ervaringen met jullie te delen. Liefs

Actief sinds 25 Dec. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 456
Totaal aantal bezoekers 20506

Voorgaande reizen:

05 December 2014 - 14 April 2015

A dream came true. Australia

Landen bezocht: